Executive Board for 2023-2024
(elected for 1-year terms)

President: Thairen Greene
Thairen D. Greene was born and raised in the Caribbean and migrated to the contiguous United States to pursue her undergraduate college degree. She has a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics from Spelman College and a Master of Science degree in Mathematics Education from Towson University. She is a proud mother of three, two of whom are Autistic. She has been an active voluntary board member of the Autism Society of America – Baltimore Chesapeake since 2010. Thairen has worked as a mathematics educator in the Baltimore area for over two decades. She is also a published author, mentor and tutor.

Vice President: Taya Dunn Johnson
Taya Dunn Johnson is a widowed mother, published author, speaker, and workshop facilitator. She is the mom to an Autistic teenager who attends Baltimore City Public Schools and has been on the ASBC Board since 2013. Taya holds a B.A. from the University of Baltimore, and a M.S. in Thanatology from Marian University. Her passion leads her to lend her voice to people and projects related to Autism and Death Education. As part of her mission to empower others to tell their authentic stories, Taya facilitates storytelling workshops with churches, schools and nonprofit agencies. She and her son live in Baltimore City.

Secretary: Kathy Flannery, MEd
Kathy Flannery, MEd, is the Regional Director of Sheppard Pratt Schools, Northern Region. With more than 20 years of special education experience, Kathy has served at Sheppard Pratt as a teacher, curriculum instruction, and assessment coordinator, and an Assistant Principal. Throughout her tenure, she spent 17 years working with students, ranging from ages 3-21, diagnosed with Autism. Kathy has experience developing instructional and behavioral programming for all age and grade levels, and has sound knowledge of evidence-based practices for teaching individuals with Autism to gain skills. She earned her bachelor of science in elementary education and a master of education in reading education from Towson University, Towson, MD. She holds certification from the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) in both elementary and special education. Kathy is currently a board member for the Maryland Association of Nonpublic Special Education Facilities (MANSEF) in addition to the ASBC board. 

Treasurer: Mary Ellen Curtis
Mary Ellen has served on the ASBC Board of Directors and held every office over a period of 12+ years. She has resumed her treasurer duties after completing 9 years as ASBC’s first Administrative Assistant. Her 27 year old daughter on the spectrum was diagnosed at the age of three.

At-Large Board Members
(elected for 2-year terms)

Immediate Past President: Debbie Page
Debbie is a wife and the mother of two children.   Her introduction to Autism began in 2005, when her youngest son was diagnosed with Autism at the age of 2.  In 2006, she joined the board of directors of the Autism Society of Baltimore-Chesapeake.   She currently works for Baltimore County Public Schools in the Office of Special Education.  As her journey continues she is inspired daily by the people she meets within the Autism community and is passionate about helping.

Director of Adult Programming and Board Member: James Orman
James was born in Indianapolis, Indiana and moved with his husband and dogs to Baltimore in 2013. He has a Bachelors degree in Political Science from Indiana University and has a passion for social justice and equity. James received his diagnosis late in life and aims to use his unique position to facilitate sharing and growth within the community, while fostering acceptance and understanding outside of it. He hosts the Autistic Adult group held each Thursday and welcomes any and all newcomers to join a safe space to experience other members of the community.

Board Member: Christina Ralls
Christina lives in Baltimore and is the Director of Business and Development at the Music and Gaming Festival (MAGFest), a non-profit organization whose mission is to make the world a better place through video game art, music, and culture. They became involved with ASBC through our partnership with Art with a Heart, where they were the Senior Director of Workforce Development and Social Enterprise for 11 years. They are an educator, organizer, and multi-media artist. Ralls received a BA in Visual Arts (Imaging and Digital Arts Track) and a minor in Art History from the University of Maryland Baltimore County, and a MA in Community Arts from Maryland Institute College of Art. They are passionate about community building and creating accessible and inclusive spaces for all, and have been an ASBC board member since 2018.

Board Member: Pete Roth
Pete received his introduction to the world of Autism when his daughter was diagnosed in March of 2007.  He is a practicing restorative dentist in Harford County where he has served the Harford/Cecil Dental Society in multiple capacities including president.  His belief that all parents of children on the spectrum are connected is what drives him to help families find the resources necessary to move them forward.

Board Member: Mike Thomas
Mike is the first individual on the spectrum to serve on the board of the Autism Society of Baltimore Chesapeake. He is an amazing advocate and is ever-ready to help with the work of the board.

Honorary Board Member: Andy Parsley
Andy has supported people on the Autism spectrum since 1990, in community residential settings, supported employment, as a special education teacher, and as the principal of St. Elizabeth School.  He currently is Director of Education at Sheppard Pratt. Serving on the board since 2011 has been a motivating and fulfilling experience for him.  He lives in Baltimore with his wife and two daughters.

Honorary Board Member: Ketia Stokes
Ketia Stokes is Coordinator of Social Emotional Learning and Wellness for the Baltimore City Public Schools. She holds a Masters Degree in Special Education and is a previous Fellow of the Center for Innovation and Leadership in Special Education at Kennedy Krieger Institute.  In 2013, Ketia was named Baltimore City Teacher of the Year. She has a sister on the spectrum and is able to offer the unique perspective of being a sibling as well as an educator.

ASBC Members Serving on Non-Board Positions:

Baltimore County Public Schools/ASBC partnership: Debbie Page, Partnership Director.

Administrative Assistant: Toya Drummond

Web Master: Christina Ralls

Librarian: Howard Quinn